Established in 1968, on the basis of the former milk processing plant, this plant was set up as a cable-wire section of production floor 31 of State Scientific Production Enterprise Kommunar Corporation . At that time the authority of the Kharkov plant was already unconditional, since rocket and space industry was rapidly developing. On the other hand, spread and popularization of television led to the growth of demand for TV sets. Therefore, the establishment of Bogodukhov radio technical electric and mechanical works (that was the name given to this section afterwards) was a notable event for the whole region.

The setup of this enterprise, on the one hand, gave an opportunity to expand production facilities and create jobs in the television production, while, on the other, it appealed to the workforce available in Bogodukhov, while the workforce was insufficient in Kharkov. In the beginning the section, headed by I..Tserkovny had 64 people. However, soon the enterprise was given an additional order to produce components for TV sets. Therefore, the construction of a new production building commenced and the number of employees grew to 250. This pace of the plant development, its prospects and support from the district administration, promoted the expansion of the facilities and entering a new industry. Consequently, in 1977 basing on the production floor, a plant of radio-technical products was established. The following years were characterized by the active TV set production, manufacture of air-borne and ground devices for the control systems of defence and civil space carrier rockets. The enterprise infrastructure expanded significantly too production buildings were reconstructed, several blocks of flats were built and so on. The workforce rose to 1400.

Until Perestroika the range of manufactured goods widened, and its output increased. Owing to the reduction of the output of special purpose products and TV sets the plant was on the edge of shutting down. However, despite all difficulties the management of State Scientific Production Enterprise Kommunar Corporation found an opportunity to convert the plant to the new production. Thus, 1995 became a turning point for the renewal of Bogodukhov electric and mechanical works. The enterprise started manufacturing new products, namely:

  • Fuel dosage meters;
  • Petrol station remote controls;
  • Carriage making products;
  • Non-standard agricultural equipment.

The biggest share of the plant produce is connected with manufacturing components for State Scientific Production Enterprise Kommunar Corporation . These are, first of all, products for railway transport, energy and water meters, and welding equipment. The volume of the products, manufactured for State Scientific Production Enterprise Kommunar Corporation , is 62,8%.

Nevertheless, the plant also manufactures end products, sold on the contractual basis. These are goods for Kharkov carriage repair plant, Dnepropetrovsk CJSC Unikon, regional depots, as well as for the majority of carriage works in Ukraine. The volume of the other goods and services makes up 12,8%. Recently, the enterprise launched a new production line - woodworks. It is also connected with the railway industry. Furthermore, the plant started manufacturing construction materials for country houses. The volume of these goods in the money equivalent is 2,7-2,8 m UAH per year.

At present a promising production direction is space industry. The products of State Scientific Production Enterprise Kommunar Corporation and its branch - Bogodukhov electric and mechanical works, are supplied to the Russian market. Cooperation with Russian enterprises gives an opportunity to introduce the production of new items for the space industry.

In order to increase the output the plant facilities were renovated and re-equipped. These measures enable to increase the volume of production output from 7 to 9 m. UAH per year.

The achievement of Bogodukhov electric and mechanical works is Krasnokutsk branch, specializing in manufacturing construction materials and providing construction services to the local population of Bogodukhov and Krasnokutsk districts. The enterprise includes a confectionery section that provides employees and local dwellers with its products. The facilities have a medical office, too.

Основанный 1968 году, на базе прежнего молокозавода, завод создавался как кабельно-шнуровой участок цеха № 31 ГНПП «Объединения Коммунар». На то время авторитет Харьковского завода уже был беспрекословным, ведь ракетно-космическая промышленность набирала обороты. С другой же стороны, распространение и популяризация телевидения привели к росту спроса на телевизоры. Поэтому создание Богодуховского электромеханического завода радиотехнических изделий (а именно такое название получил участок впоследствии) стало заметным событием для всей области.

Организация такого предприятия, с одной стороны, давала возможность нарастить производственную площадь и рабочие места в телепроизводстве, а с другой, привлечь к производству рабочие кадры, имеющиеся в Богодухове, которых тогда недоставало в Харькове. Сначала на участке И.А.ЦЕРКОВНОГО работало 64 человека. Но вскоре предприятие получило дополнительный заказ на изготовление комплектующих для телевизоров, поэтому было начато строительство дополнительного корпуса, и численность работников выросла до 250. Быстрые темпы развития предприятия, его перспективность и поддержка со стороны районной администрации, способствовали расширению производства и освоению новой отрасли. Поэтому в 1977 году на базе цеха создается завод радиотехнических изделий. Следующие годы характеризовались активным производством телевизоров, изготовлением бортовой и наземной аппаратуры системы управления ракетоносителей оборонного и космического назначения. Существенно расширилась инфраструктура предприятия - были реконструированные производственные корпуса, построено несколько жилых домов и тому подобное. Штат рабочих насчитывал около 1400 человек.

Вплоть до “перестройки” номенклатура завода расширялась, увеличивались объемы производства. Со снижением выпуска спец продукции и телевизоров завод очутился на грани закрытия. Но, невзирая на всю трудность руководство ГНПП «Объединения Коммунар» нашло возможность переориентировать завод на новое производство, поэтому 1995 год стал датой нового рождения Богодуховского электромеханического завода. На предприятии начато производство новых видов продукции, а именно:

  • Счетчиков дозы горючего;
  • Пультов дистанционного управления к АЗС;
  • Изделий вагоностроения;
  • Нестандартного оборудования  для сельского хозяйства.

Львиная доля производства завода настроена на выпуск комплектующих изделий для ГНПП «Объединения Коммунар». Это, в первую очередь, изделия железнодорожного назначения, продукция для счетчиков воды и электроэнергии, сварочной техники. Объем продукции производимой для ГНПП «Объединение Коммунар», составляет 62,8%.
Однако, в структуре производства имеется и готовая продукция, которая реализуется на договорных условиях. Это также изделия для Харьковского вагоноремонтного завода, Днепропетровского ЗАО «Юникон», для региональных депо, а также для большинства вагоностроительных предприятий Украины. Объем реализации другой продукции и услуги составляет 12,8%. Недавно предприятие наладило новый вид производства - деревообработка. Она также связана с железнодорожной отраслью. Кроме того, завод освоил производство строительных материалов для дачных домов. Объемы этой продукции в денежном эквиваленте составляют 2,7-2,8 млн.грн. в год.
Сегодня перспективным направлением производства является космическая отрасль. Продукция ГНПП «Объединения Коммунар» и его филиала - Богодуховского электромеханического завода, поставляется на Российский рынок. Сотрудничество с Российскими предприятиями дает возможность осваивать новые изделия космической отрасли. 

Для увеличения объемов производства осуществлены реконструкцию корпуса завода, внедрено новое оборудование. Такие мероприятия способны увеличить объемы производства с 7 до 9 млн.грн. в год.

Достижением Богодуховского электромеханического завода является Краснокутский филиал, ориентированный на выпуск строительных материалов и предоставление  строительных услуг жителям Богодуховского и Краснокутского районов. На предприятии работает кондитерский цех, который обеспечивает продукцией не только работников завода, но и прилегающей территории, функционирует медпункт.